RÜFÜS DU SOL – Live from Joshua Tree

, January 7, 2021

Planned in advance of pandemic, electronic band RÜFÜS DU SOL’s live recording of a 45-minute open air set from Joshua Tree, California provides an escapist experience. The recording is shot to a fading sunset which silhouettes the rock formations that make up Joshua Tree National Park’s topography.

The Sydney trio performed renowned tracks including SolaceUnderwater, and Innerbloom, and one new entrant, Valley of the Yuccas. Strobe lighting was erected in the area surrounding the stage at Awe Ranch, made of 100 poles flashing LED white. The below live recording was released on 4th March 2020.

RÜFÜS DU SOL’s drummer James Hunt commented:

We just wanted to make something we could be proud of, something that you can watch alone on your couch in the afternoon, or with a group of friends before you go out, something that also wouldn’t be out of place on the TV at an afters where groups of friends and strangers are sharing stories from their night out. Ideally it’s something that helps create a sense of shared experience and friendship in that way.

The world looked very different at the time of sending out the recording. The recording had been shown in sold-out venues in Sydney’s Ritz Cinemas San the IMAX in Melbourne, then raising $18,000 for the The Red Cross for Australian bushfire aid. European and American tour dates were scheduled for the summer.

RÜFÜS DU SOL: Live from Joshua Tree Tracklist
1. Valley of the Yuccas (Live from Joshua Tree)
2. Eyes (Live from Joshua Tree)
3. New Sky (Live from Joshua Tree)
4. Desert Night (Live from Joshua Tree)
5. Solace (Live from Joshua Tree)
6. Underwater (Live from Joshua Tree)
7. Innerbloom (Live from Joshua Tree)
8. No Place (Live from Joshua Tree)

Find the album on Apple Music and Spotify. Joshua Tree is located next to Palm Springs near to the venue of music festival Coachella.